Complaints and Lost Dog reports are not taken via email.
Please view the lost dog pictures and then call the office with your complaint or lost dog information.
Low Cost Veterinary Clinic will be here [Dog Control Parking lot] Every 2nd and 4th Friday of the month, 1-5pm.
Click Here for more information.
Linn County Dog Control is the division of Linn County Government charged with enforcing the animal statutes for Linn County excluding the City of Albany. Linn County Dog Control operates under Oregon State Statutes and Linn County Ordinances which set forth what regulations the dog owner must abide by, what recourse the public has against a dog or dog owner, and what laws a Dog Control Officer shall enforce. <top>
Our dogs love to sleep on Kuranda Dog beds, but we don't have enough for everyone. If you would like to donate a bed at a special wholesale price for a another dog to sleep in comfort, please click here
Donated items needed for shelter:
- Pet Meds
- Dog Treats
- Canned Food
- Kwik Stop
Linn County Dog Control enforces the following laws within Linn County excluding the Albany city limits:
- Licensing - Any dog six months of age or with permanent canine teeth which has been in your possession within Linn County for 30 days must be licensed (ORS 609.100).
- It is unlawful for dogs to run at large in Linn County. Any Peace Officer or Dog Control Officer may impound a dog that is found running at large.
- No dog owner or keeper of a dog shall permit a dog to chase, kill, wound, or injure livestock not belonging to the owner or keeper of such dog. The owner or keeper of a dog that has injured or killed livestock is responsible for the amount up to double the amount of damages. Any dog, whether licensed or not, which, while off premises owned or under the control of its owner, kills, wounds, or injures any livestock not belonging to the master of such a dog is a public nuisance and may be killed immediately by any person (ORS 609.150).
- A dog in considered a public nuisance per ORS 609.095 if it:
- Chases vehicles or people
- Damages or destroys the property of others
- Scatters garbage
- Trespasses on private property
- Disturbs any person by frequent or prolonged noise
- Is a female in heat and is running at large
Oregon Revised Statute 609.100 and Linn County Code 560.210 requires that every person owning or keeping any dog that has permanent canine teeth or is six months old, which ever comes first, shall, within thirty days after he becomes the owner or keeper of the dog and yearly thereafter, procure from the County a license for the dog. Failure to purchase a license in punishable by a fine of up to $250.00.
|Spay or Neutered Dog (annual)||
|Unaltered Dog (annual)||
|Non-enforced Late Fee||
|Enforced Late Fee (warning or citation)||
|Puppy Identification Tag||
A partial year license (minimum of two (2) months) may be purchased for a dog at the rate of $1.25 per month if spay or neutered, or $2.10 per month if a fertile dog. This option is offered so dog owners can comply with license regulation when the rabies vaccination is not valid for the OAR required 10 months to obtain a full year license.
**Note: Late fees will apply if applicable.
To purchase a license bring or mail a current rabies certificate from a veterinarian current through 10 months of the license year and a spay or neuter certificate, if applicable, with the appropriate fee listed above to:
LINN COUNTY DOG CONTROL
3008 FERRY ST SW
ALBANY, OR 97321
If mailed, your certificate, license receipt, and tag will be returned to you by mail.
PUPPY IDENTIFICATION TAG $5.00
Do you have a puppy that is not of licensing age & would like to have an identification tag in the event you loose your family pet?You may purchase a puppy tag from Linn County Dog Control for a fee of $5.00. Your information will be logged into our system and at six (6) months of age a reminder to license your dog will be sent to you through the mail. <top>
Dogs impounded at the Linn County Dog Control facility are usually available for adoption three to five days after being received. View the dogs currently impounded.
Adoptions are handled between the hours of 9:00 a.m & 4:00 p.m, Monday thru Friday.
Superior Nutrition for the Lifelong Health of Your Pet®
Where Should I Look?
The minute you realize your pet is missing, start looking. Don't wait, especially if your dog is unlicensed or not wearing the tag. View the dogs currently impounded at the Linn County Dog Control facility. Visit the shelters and call often.
It is quite possible your dog was picked up running loose or was turned into a shelter by someone who found it. However, unless your dog is wearing a license, there is no sure way of making a positive identification.
Many dogs look alike and there is no way shelter personnel can be certain from your description whether or not they are holding your dog, therefore, it is vital that you visit the shelters to look for yourself.
Place a Lost ad in your local newspaper and be sure to check the Found ads. Put posters up in your neighborhood. These can be very helpful especially if you include a color picture of your dog. If you list a reward, be sure not to disclose the reward amount. Frequently people will find a dog and, not knowing where to take the dog or which shelters to call, will place a found ad in the paper and not turn the dog into a shelter for several days. Therefore keep checking - many times a dog will not show up at a shelter for 2 - 4 weeks.
Please remember, when your pet is found to notify the shelters, newspaper (if ad still running), and remove any flyers from the posted locations.
The same procedures apply should you find a dog. Call the shelters and place a found ad in the local newspapers, most papers place found items in the paper free of charge.
Where Should I Call?
Linn County Dog Control, Albany 541-967-3925
Albany Police Department, Albany 541-917-7680
Safehaven Humane Society, Albany 541-928-2789
Heartland Humane Society, Corvallis 541-757-9000