Office ( 541 ) 967-3853   Fax ( 541 ) 967-4268                                                                                                                                        104 4th Avenue SW, Room 200, Albany, OR.  97321                         

Disclaimer & Limitation of Liability

  Linn County Juvenile Department © 2011                                                                            Email Webmaster                                                                                                  http://www.co.linn.or.us/




        

Linn County Juvenile Department

   Ballot Measure 11, passed by Oregon voters in 1994, requires mandatory minimum sentences for specific serious and violent crimes. These crimes are listed below. The law took effect on April 1, 1995, and has been codified as Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 137.700 through 137.712.


   Young people 15, 16 and 17 years of age who are charged with Ballot Measure 11 offenses are automatically prosecuted in adult court. These young offenders are convicted and sentenced by the adult court to the legal and physical custody of the Department of Corrections (DOC), but are transferred to the physical custody of the Oregon Youth Authority for placement in a youth correctional facility.


   Being convicted of a Measure 11 crime requires a mandatory minimum sentence. That means; no probation, no early release for good behavior, no parole.


One strike, you’re out!




What is Measure 11?

Murder

25 years

Attempt or conspiracy to commit aggravated murder

10 years

Attempt or conspiracy to commit murder

7 years, 6 months

Manslaughter I

10 years

Manslaughter II

6 years, 3 months

Assault I

7 years, 6 months

Assault II

5 years, 10 months

Kidnapping I

7 years, 6 months

Kidnapping II

5 years, 10 months

Rape I

8 years, 4 months

Rape II

6 years, 3 months

Sodomy I

8 years, 4 months

Sodomy II

6 years, 3 months

Unlawful Sexual Penetration I

8 years, 4 months

Unlawful Sexual Penetration II

6 years, 3 months

Sexual Abuse I

6 years, 3 months

Robbery I

7 years, 6 months

Robbery II

5 years, 10 months

Arson I

7 years, 6 months

Using a child in a display of sexually explicit conduct

5 years, 10 months

Compelling Prostitution

5 years, 10 months